Supreme Court of Victoria 210 William Street Melbourne Victoria 3000 DX 210608 Melbourne



W: supremecourt.vic.gov.au

Media Release

Announcement of Senior Counsel for Victoria 2016

Tuesday 22 November, 2016

The Chief Justice today appointed 18 Senior Counsel for Victoria:

Michael Patrick Cahill Rozeta Stoikovska **Timothy John Seccull David Chaworth Hallowes** John Richard Kelly Julie Condon Penelope Anna Neskovcin Amanda Claire Fox **Daniel Irving Star** Timothy James McEvoy Paul Xavier Connor Jonathan Lewis Evans Hamish Nicholas Gareth Austin Tom Davidson Cordiner Andrew Thomas Broadfoot Theodoros Kassimatis Daniel Joseph Crennan Michael Isaac Borsky

The Chief Justice said they were chosen from 81 applicants (69 men and 12 women). "The appointees were selected after a wide and demanding consultative process involving the higher courts and tribunals, the Victorian Bar and the Law Institute and other senior members of the legal profession", she said.

"The appointees represent a wide cross-section of advocates drawn from most areas of practice", the Chief Justice said. The oldest appointee is 60 and the youngest is 39. There were four women appointed.

There will be a ceremonial sitting of the Supreme Court to welcome the new silks in the Banco Court on Friday 2 December at 9.15am. The profession, public and media are welcome to attend.

Media contact: Michelle Dall, Communications Manager, <u>media@supremecourt.vic.gov.au</u>, 03 9603 9342